Bluetooth peripherals issue on Apple Mac’s

In light of the ongoing pandemic, our lives have changed “a bit”, and most people that have that option are now working from home. It is the same for me, and that changed my setup quite a bit. I had to make use of what I had, so I pulled out my trusty old Apple Wireless Keyboard and Trackpad to make use of while in the improvised home office and combined it with my (also old and also trusty) Logitech Performance MX mouse.

Apple Magic Trackpad and Keyboard

Apple Magic Trackpad and Keyboard

After a while I started expiriencing issues with Bluetooth peripherals where one of them would disconect for a second and immediatley reconnect (usually the trackpad), but the other Bluetooth peripherals would be unusable for a second. As this did not impact other peripherals, like my my mouse (which is connected via a dedicated transciever), I narrowed it down just to Bluetooth. After some research and a lot of thinking about it, I have figured out that if only one Bluetooth device in the chain has bad batteries, or is low on battery, it will disconnect and reconnect to the bluetooth controler too fast, thus causing all of the devices connected to be unusable for that time.

Batteries charging

Batteries charging

Resolution to this issue is pretty simple. Keep in mind what devices are connected to your Mac via Bluetooth at all times, and keep them well fed with energy. If you are using an older model of an Apple peripheral (like I am), which uses replaceable batteries, you should also make shure to keep in mind that as rechargeable batteries get older, the less of a charge they can keep over time. So if they don’t charge fully, or if they discharge quickly, you should replace them or keep a spare set charged and ready to go. Just to avoid disruptions in your workday.

Hope this helps! Take care!

About loncarevic

Google it.
This entry was posted in PC repair and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.